Elected representatives

Leckhampton is represented at five levels of government:

  • At least until October this year, Leckhampton is part of the South West England & Gibraltar constituency in the European Parliament.   Along with the Council of Ministers made up of elected leaders from across Europe, the European Parliament is the key democratic decision-making body of the European Union. I am one of two Liberal Democrat Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) elected this May, the other being former Reuters journalist Caroline Voaden from Totnes.  Along with Molly Scott Cato, re-elected for the Green Party, we won our seats with a clear mandate to try to stop Brexit and play a full part in Europe’s democratic decision-making over the next five years.  Three Brexit Party MEPs were also elected.
  • Leckhampton is part of the Cheltenham parliamentary constituency. In Parliament, Cheltenham’s MP is Conservative Alex Chalk.  His Liberal Democrat opposite number is local campaigner and parliamentary candidate Max Wilkinson.  Alex Chalk can be contacted at the House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA and on 020 7219 3000.  You can read more about his voting record on the independent website theyworkforyou.com.
  • On Gloucestershire County Council (responsible for roads, on-street parking, schools, social services and libraries among other local services), the Leckhampton and Warden Hill Division is represented by Liberal Democrat Iain Dobie who was first elected in 2013.  Iain is Deputy Leader of the Lib Dem opposition.  The council and its services are currently run by a Conservative  administration.
  • On Cheltenham Borough Council, Leckhampton ward is represented by two councillors: Liberal Democrat Martin Horwood and Conservative Stephen Cooke both elected in an extremely close election fight between the Tories and LibDems in May 2018Martin can be contacted on Cheltenham 216995 or by emailing martin@martinhorwood.net.  Cheltenham Borough Council is responsible for housing, recycling and rubbish collections, parks and gardens, local car parks, environmental health and most local planning decisions and has been run by the Liberal Democrats for many years.
  • Leckhampton with Warden Hill Parish Council includes ward members from both Warden Hill and Leckhampton – including Martin who is also a parish councillor – and is involved in local planning decisions, local footpaths, play areas and green spaces.  The Parish is also actively monitoring traffic and air pollution and is preparing its own Neighbourhood Plan to guide future development in the area.  There are councillors of several parties on the Parish Council but all sit as independents.  And don’t believe the Vicar of Dibley – it is an elected neighbourhood local government body and nothing to do with vicars!